Official Languages Act

The Official Languages (Amendment) Act 2021 was enacted in December 2021 to introduce changes to the Official Languages Act 2003. The purpose of this legislation is to increase the obligations on public bodies to promote the use of Irish language for official purposes. The NTMA is a public body for the purpose of these Acts.

The NTMA was requested by the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media to review and prepare a second draft Irish language Scheme under Section 15 of the Official Languages Act 2003. The aim of this second Scheme is to further develop the use of the Irish language throughout the NTMA focusing on areas of communication with the public. The NTMA will create awareness of the content and purpose of the Scheme among employees and monitor the demand for Irish language services throughout the course of the Scheme. This Scheme commenced on 1 June 2021 and shall remain in force for a period of 3 years.

Please click the link below to read the scheme.